Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ

Inviting the Public In

Welcome to the United Nations"

For seventy years, the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ has invited the public to tour the headquarters, bringing an extraordinary number of visitors to Turtle Bay and shrinking the literal and figurative distance between the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ¡¯s work and the world.

The Guided Tours Begin

Photo Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ

Miami News, December 13, 1953

 

 

 

The wreckage of World War II demonstrated a need for a new order, one of deeper cooperation across borders. This vision led to the founding of the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ. The founders of the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ also believed that the fate of the Organization depended on the global public¡¯s support. In 1945, they established the Department of Public Information, which would publish books, produce films, and liaise with the press.

The Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ¡¯s invitation to the public to enter the headquarters was part and parcel of this strategy to foster close relations with members of the public around the world. And so, as international civil servants set up their offices and diplomats attended the seventh session of the General Assembly in 1952, members of the public began touring the headquarters, snapping photos, and taking in the new global-governing body.

Brochure, Visitors¡¯ Guide to the United Nations, 1955 [Dexter Fergie¡¯s collection]

Abbie Krasne [Photo Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ]

In the context of the post-World War II moment¡ªas the memory of the humanitarian horrors remained fresh¡ªsupport for the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ ran remarkably high. Abbie Krasne, an American guide who worked in the early 1950s, recalls that all of the guides were ¡°fervent believers¡± in the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ.

Guided Tour Attendance Figures for the Month of April 1955 [Photo Archives]

The guided tour attracted a lot of visitors. Within the first year of the tour, the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ headquarters was averaging about 1,500 visitors per day. At the time, according to an American journalist, two of New York¡¯s other famous attractions, the Statue of Liberty and the Empire State Building, were each visited by about 200-300 people per day.

Come to the U.N., advertisement, Life, March 18, 1966

The purpose of inviting the public into the headquarters is captured in this advertisement that ran in American magazines in the mid-1960s. In the photograph, a smiling child watches diplomats from Mali, the United States, and Japan talking amicably to one another¡ªin other words, the child glimpses the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ in action. Part of the caption reads: ¡°Best of all are the things you feel.

In the buzzing of 3400 Secretariat employees and the 2000 representatives of 117 countries, hope is palpable. You realize that if nations are already cooperating, they can continue to cooperate; that if the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ hasn¡¯t solved all the world¡¯s problems in 20 years, at least it¡¯s begun.¡±

5 millionth visitor, April 10, 1959 [Photo Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ]

By the end of the 1950s, the tours took off in popularity. On April 10, 1959¡ªafter about seven years of the tour¡¯s existence¡ªthe Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ headquarters welcomed its five millionth visitor, Keiko Glenn, who came from Hawai¡¯i. Five years later, on May 14, 1964, it welcomed the ten millionth visitor, Uno Laitinen, a factory worker from Detroit.

Photo Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ

10 millionth visitor, May 14, 1964 [Photo Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ]

The guides were to be exclusively young women. This meant that the one Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ official that most visitors to the headquarters would interact with would be a woman¡ªduring an era when men greatly outnumbered women in the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ Secretariat¡¯s professional positions (in 1949, for example, women occupied only 393 out of 1,678 professional positions in the Secretariat). Men were not able to serve as guides until 1977.

The Role of the AAÄ¢¹½ÊÓÆµ

The tours were originally established and managed by the American Association of the United Nations, a US-based Organization devoted to promoting the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ to an American audience. Its work paved the path for today¡¯s Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ Visitor Centre.

Elizabeth F. Hitchcock to Trygve Lie, June 26, 1950 [Photo Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ Archives]

Before the AAÄ¢¹½ÊÓÆµ established the guided tour service in 1952, it had provided tours and briefings to the general public at the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ¡¯s temporary headquarters at Lake Success (Long Island) and Flushing Meadows (Queens), from the late 1940s on.

Between November 1948 and June 1950, the AAÄ¢¹½ÊÓÆµ handled almost one million visitors at the temporary headquarters.

Thanks to the AAÄ¢¹½ÊÓÆµ¡¯s public relations experience at the temporary headquarters and to the general assumption that the vast majority of visitors would be American, the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ contracted the AAÄ¢¹½ÊÓÆµ to set up the tour service at the permanent headquarters.

Agreement between the United Nations and American Association for the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ, April 22, 1952 [Photo Un Archives]

Photo Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ

Photo Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ/VSS

The AAÄ¢¹½ÊÓÆµ established the main route that guides walk along to this day. The photo on the left depicts a Swedish guide interpreting Jos¨¦ Vela Zanetti¡¯s mural ¡°Mankind¡¯s Struggle for a Lasting Peace¡± in 1954; the photo above on the right depicts a Brazilian guide doing the same thing 65 years later in 2019.

Secretary-General, Budget Estimates for the Financial Year 1955, November 16, 1954 [Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ document]

The Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ Department of Public Information took over the tours in 1955. According to the Secretary-General Dag Hammarskj?ld, the guided tours were a ¡°vital¡± international service and therefore should not be managed by a national NGO.

Making the Headquarters Accessible to the Public

General Assembly ticket, no date [Dexter Fergie¡¯s collection]

Although guided tours were the primary attraction for most visitors to the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ headquarters, a wide array of other activities pulled members of the public into the headquarters. The Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ headquarters turned the intergovernmental Organization into something that the general public could experience, whether sending a postcard from the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ Postal Administration or having lunch in the Delegates Dining Lounge.

Many of the meetings of the General Assembly, Economic and Social Council, Security Council, and, before it suspended its activities in 1994, Trusteeship Council, have been open to the public. This policy of openness has given the members of the public a front-row seat to the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ¡¯s handling of issues, ranging from decolonization to climate change.

Delegates Dining Room matchbook [Dexter Fergie¡¯s collection]

Since the opening of the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ headquarters in 1952, the Delegates Dining Room has been a go-to for international fare in New York. Because so many top Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ officials and diplomats dined there, a journalist reported in the 1950s, many members of the public ¡°dawdle in the hope of seeing celebrities.¡±

 

Photo of Delegates Dining Room, January 1, 1957 [Photo Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ]

An American school teacher and a British guide in the Gift Center, 1954 [Photo Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ]

The Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ gift shop was another attraction at the headquarters, where, in the early 1950s, visitors could browse and purchase handicrafts from around the world, including an Indonesian salad set ($3), a Kenyan warrior shield ($30), and an Indian silk scarf ($42.25). The shop contained, according to a travel writer at the time, ¡°the most interesting inventory in New York.¡±

The Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ Cooperative Gift Center, 1954 [Photo Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ/MB]

Chris Shenk¡¯s New York Tours, advertisement, in The Lancaster Sunday News (now LNP | LancasterOnline), Lancaster, PA, June 26, 1955.

The Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ headquarters became a fixture for tourists visiting New York. Tour companies, such as the Pennsylvania-based Ridgeway Tours, began to include a visit to the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ headquarters in their New York itinerary soon after the permanent headquarters opened in 1952.

Postcard, July 18, 1965 [Dexter Fergie¡¯s collection]

Postcards sent from the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ show that the Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ headquarters became a popular choice for tourists. Ann, writing to the Barrs in California in 1965, included a Ä¢¹½ÊÓÆµ tour, along with other New York favorites, including Broadway and Radio City Music Hall.